The Lute Online Resources Portal (LORP): Recording Companies and Specialist Websites

 

RECORDINGS OF LUTE MUSIC

It would be impossible to catalogue all recordings of lute music, as more recordings appear on the internet every day, on Youtube, Amazon, Apple iTunes, Napster, Spotify, Rhapsody and other similar websites, and older CD recordings are digitised. Many recordings can be found using general search engines, by searching for artist, composer, or name of recording.

New release listings in the lute society magazines listed under academic journals may serve as a proxy lute discography.

However, Le Luth Dore intends to compile a complete discography of all lute music CDs released to date; www.leluthdore.com/

Allmusic search engine, which can be used to search for lute recordings: www.allmusic.com/search/all/lute
Fnac search engine, which can be used to search for lute recordings: www.fnac.com/

SPECIALIST WEBSITES AND ONLINE-ONLY RECORDING COMPANIES

Some music websites specialise in early music or lute music:

Magnatune: magnatune.com
Werner Bogula's Lutecasts: www.lutecast.com/

RECORDING COMPANIES WHICH HAVE PUBLISHED LUTE MUSIC CDS

(generally omitting self-publishing-only labels)

ABC Classics: shop.abc.net.au/t/brands/abc-classics
Accent: www.discographie.org/catalogue_accent.htm
Agogique: www.agogique.com/
Alpha: www.alpha-prod.com
Alba: www.alba-records.fi
Alia Vox: www.alia-vox.com
Alice Musik Production: www.alice-musik.se/frameset.html
Aliud Records: www.skarstermusic.com/aliudrecords/
Americasmusicworks: phbloom.home.comcast.net/~phbloom/buycds.html
Anima e corpo: www.animaecorpo.es
Arta F: www.arta.cz/
Artefactum: www.artefactumusicantigua.com/discography-1/
Atma Classique: www.atmaclassique.com
Avie Records: avierecords.com
Baerenreiter Musicaphon: www.discogs.com/label/100083-B%C3%A4renreiter-Musicaphon
Baroquelute.com / Music's Quill: www.baroquelute.com/recordings/
Berlin Classics: www.edelclassics.com
BGS Records: www.bgsrecords.com/
BIS records: www.bis.se/
Brilliant Classics: www.brilliantclassics.com/
BMG Classics: www.bmgclassics.com (DHM)
Calliope: www.calliope.tm.fr
Camera Trajectina: www.sytsebuwalda.eu/index.php/en/discography/camera-trajectina
Cantus: www.cantus-records.com/?lang=en
Carpe Diem: www.carpediem-records.de/
CD Baby: www.cdbaby.com/
Centaur: www.centaurrecords.com
Capriccio: www.deltamusic.com
Chandos: www.chandos.net/
Challenge Classics: www.challengerecords.com/
Channel Classics: channelclassics.com
Chatham Baroque: www.chathambaroque.org/
Christophorus: www.christophorus-records.de/v2.php
Claves: www.claves.ch/
Continuo Records: continuorecords.com/index.php/en/
Contrastes Records: www.contrastesrecords.com/
Coviello Classics: www.covielloclassics.de/
Coro / The Sixteen: www.thesixteen.com
CPO: www.jpc.de/jpcng/cpo/theme/-/tname/labelshop_cpo_ueber
Daphne Records: www.daphne.se/
dB Productions: www.db-productions.se/flash.html
Decca: www.deccaclassics.com/gb/
Delphian: delphianrecords.co.uk
Discantica: www.discantica.it/
Divox Antiqua: www.discogs.com/label/195850-Divox-Antiqua
Ducale Music: www.ducalemusic.it/default.asp
Dynamic: www.dynamic.it
ECM New Series: www.ecmrecords.com/
El Gato Murr: www.gatomurr.com/Gato_Murr/Editorial_El_Gato_Murr.html
E Lucevan le Stelle: www.elucevanlestelle.com/
Enchiriadis: www.enchiriadis.com/catalogo.htm
Etcetera: etcetera-records.com
Flora: www.labelflora.net/
Forma Antiqua: formaantiqva.com
Fra Bernardo: frabernardo.com/
GadGad Music: gadgad.es/en/sello-discografico/discos/
Gamut Music: www.gamutmusic.com/
GHA Records: www.gharecords.com/
Glossa: www.glossamusic.com
Gramola: www.gramola.at/
Guild Music www.guildmusic.com/shop/wbc.php?sid=53626bf52a9&tpl=produktliste.html&rid=440
Haenssler: www.haenssler.de
Harmonia Mundi: www.harmoniamundi.com
Heresy Records: www.heresyrecords.com
Hortus: www.editionshortus.com/
Hyperion: www.hyperion-records.co.uk
Humming Conch: www.hummingconch.net/
Joan Records: joanrecords.com
La Ma de Guido: www.lamadeguido.com/
Lawo records: www.lawo.no/
Kattenberg recording: www.kattenbergrecordings.be/
Lindoro Records: www.lindoro.es/catalogo.php
Linn Records: linnrecords.com
Lion Valley Music / Duo al dente: www.lionvalleymusic.com/
L'Oiseau Lyre [Decca]: www.deccaclassics.com/gb/cat/result?IN_XXSERIES=OISLYR
Luteonline: luteonline.de
Lute and Early Guitar Society Japan: www.lgs-japan.org/
Lute Society: www.lutesociety.org/pages/catalogue#o
Lute Society of America: www.cs.dartmouth.edu/~lsa/publications/index.html
Magnatune: magnatune.com
Marquis Records: www.marquisclassics.com/index.html
Mediva: www.mediva.co.uk/
Metronome: www.metronome.co.uk/
Mignarda: www.mignarda.com/
Mirare records: www.mirare.fr/
MU Records: www.murecords.com/
MV Cremona: www.mvcremona.it/homemvENG.html
Musica Ficta: www.musica-ficta.com/new/en/index.php
Musica Omnia: www.musicaomnia.org/
Musicaphon: www.discogs.com/label/100083-B%C3%A4renreiter-Musicaphon
Na´ve: www.na´ve.fr
Naxos: www.naxos.com
Nimbus Alliance: www.wyastone.co.uk/all-labels/nimbus/nimbus-alliance.html
NB Musika: nbmusika.com
New Classical Adventure: ncamusic.com
Obsidian [Classical Communications]: www.alamire.co.uk/discography
Oehms Classics: www.oehmsclassics.de/
Opella Nova: www.opellanova-records.com/
Opus Arte: www.opusarte.com
Outhere Music: www.outhere-music.com/fr
Pan Classics: www.prestoclassical.co.uk/l/Pan%2BClassics
Paraty Records: new.paraty.fr/
Pasacaille: www.passacaille.be/
Peyrole Records: www.peyrolerecords.com/
Phonosuecia: phonosuecia.com
Pulso records: www.facebook.com/APulsoRecords
Quintone Records: www.quintone.nl/
Ramee: www.ramee.org/cataloguegb.html
Raum Klang: www.asinamusic.com/
Regent Records: www.regent-records.co.uk/
Regis Records: www.regisrecords.co.uk
Ricercar: www.ricercarconsort.com/
Satirino Records: www.satirino.fr/artist_records
Saydisc: www.saydisc.com/
Signum: www.signumrecords.com
Societe Francaise de luth: www.sf-luth.org/?Disques
Somm Celeste: www.somm-recordings.com/somm/celeste.php
Sonoluminus: www.sonoluminus.com/
Spaarn: spaarnmuziek.nl
Stradivarius: www.stradivarius.it/
Symphonia: www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/label/Symphonia/a/Symphonia
Tactus: www.tactus.it
Testament: www.testament-uk.com
Timespan Recordings: timespanrecordings.co.uk
Toccata Classics; www.toccataclassics.com/
Totentanz: www.discogs.com/label/31720-Totentanz
Turtle Records: turtlerecords.com
Urania Records: www.uraniarecords.com/
Vgo Recordingss: www.vgorecordings.com/_vgorecordings/early_music.php
Verlagsgruppe Kamprad: vkjk.de/cds-80.html
Verso: www.verso.es/
Veterum Musica: www.veterummusica.com
Voice of Lyrics: www.voiceoflyrics.com/
Warner Classics [incorporating Virgin Classics, Erato, etc: www.warnerclassics.com/
Zig Zag: www.zig-zag-territoires.com

CD REVIEWS AND LISTINGS

All the academic journals and quarterlies of the lute societies publish reviews of recent CDs.

Websites with CD listings and reviews include the following:

Early Music Review (UK based, includes a booklet of course, concert, festival and one-day event listings) subscribe at sites.google.com/site/earlymusicco/services related website earlymusicreview.com/
Igor Varfolomeevĺs lute and guitar site www.lute.ru/home_eng.htm

Vanilla hypertext system