The Lute Online Resources Portal (LORP): Lute History

 

LUTE HISTORY WEBSITES

As more and more academic material appears online, the distinction between lute history webpages and academic journals becomes less clear: therefore see also Academic journals. It is worth remembering that an increasing amount of lute information appears in online encyclopaedias such as Wikipedia www.wikipedia.org, and that music encyclopaedias are now online: New Grove Dictionary of Music www.oxfordmusiconline.com/public/book/omo_gmo and Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart www.mgg-online.com/

Note that the archive of discussions on Wayne Cripps’ Lutenet: can be searched by topic.

Many luthiers have notes the lute and its history on their webpages; see lists of lute makers, notable ones are on the websites of: Martin Shepherd: www.luteshop.co.uk/Home.html Stephen Barber and Sandi Harris: www.lutesandguitars.co.uk/index.htm, Alexander Batov: www.vihuelademano.com/ David van Edwards: www.vanedwards.co.uk/ Dan Larson, Gamut Music: www.gamutmusic.com

Also:-

The late Christian Brassy's French language medieval instruments site: www.apemutam.org/instrumentsmedievaux/eng/index.htm
Diego Cantalupi, theorbo as continuo instrument: www.diegocantalupi.it/tesi.pdf
Tim Crawford’s researches: www.doc.gold.ac.uk/~mas01tc/web/ttc/research1.html
Bernd Haegemann's links to writings on historical performance practice www.symbol4.de/theory.htm
Texts of English lute ayres on website of Harald Lillmeyer: kulturserver-bayern.de/home/harald-lillmeyer/Texte/Downloads/Downloads.html
Marc Lewon's blog: mlewon.wordpress.com/
Mignarda's Unquiet Thoughts lute blog: mignarda.wordpress.com/
Benjamin Narvey's website: www.luthiste.com/?Writings
Ian Pittaway's blog: earlymusicmuse.com/
Thomas Schall's webpage, under 'Essays': www.lautenist.de/
Andreas Schlegel’s Lute Corner, ‘research publications’: www.lutecorner.ch/ and on the Accords Nouveaux website: www.accordsnouveaux.ch/de/Instrumente/Lautentypen/Lautentypen.html
Kenneth Sparr's website with diverse essays about lute and historical guitars: www.tabulatura.com/
Igor Varfolomeev’s lute and guitar site www.lute.ru/home_eng.htm
Arto Wikla's site, articles: www.cs.helsinki.fi/u/wikla/mus/Contrib.html scroll down to 'articles'

Websites on general early music theory, dance etc

Musicology articles, some of them related to the lute, at www.musicologie.org/ under ‘Encyclopedie Musicale’ and ‘Articles et documents’
Gordon Callon’s History of Musical Instruments page: plato.acadiau.ca/courses/musi/callon/2273/instr.htm
Hexachords, solmization and musica ficta: www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/hex.html
La Folia: www.folia.tk/
SCS Renaissance Dance Homepage, www.pbm.com/~lindahl/dance.html
Library of Congress video clips of historical dances from historical dance manuals:
memory.loc.gov/ammem/dihtml/divideos.html
Luthiers and music merchants of Eastern France blog: facteursetmarchandsdemusique.blogspot.co.uk/
The Guitar Museum: www.theguitarmuseum.com/

Vanilla hypertext system